Chenxiao Chen

Chenxiao Chen, 19 years old, is a second-year piano student under the tutelage of Edward Neeman at the Australian National University. He is a recipient of the Dennis Griffin Piano Undergraduate Scholarship. Chenxiao attained his LTCL Piano Diploma with Distinction in 2013. Over the past five years, Chenxiao has won several awards at numerous competitions. In 2017, he won the Rönisch Auckland Secondary Schools Piano Competition and the Auckland Grammar Minister’s Plate Music Competition. In 2016, he won IRMT Auckland Branch’s Margaret Doone Memorial Piano Sonata Scholarship and the Lang Lang New Zealand Youth Piano Competition. He was a finalist in the Wallace National Junior Piano Competition in 2014. Recently, Chenxiao was awarded the Imad Nassir Prize and the Winifred Burston Memorial Prize, both for classical piano at ANU. He has given a few public performances in Canberra, including one at the Embassy of Austria.


Programme 1
Scarlatti: Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 159
Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 17 in D Minor, Op. 31 No. 2, “Tempest”

Programme 2
Bach: Toccata in G Major, BWV 916
Jenny McLeod: Tone Clock Pieces Book 1, No. 1
Liszt: Ballade No. 2 in B Minor, S. 171

Programme 3
Mozart: Piano Sonata No. 18 in D Major, K. 576
Liszt: Ballade No. 2 in B minor, S. 171
Debussy: La danse de Puck, from Préludes Book 1
Chopin: Polonaise in A Flat Major, Op. 53

Your notes on Chenxiao