Sarang Roberts / violin

Originally from Christchurch, Sarang Roberts currently studies at the New Zealand School of Music with Associate Professor Dr. Martin Riseley and previously, NZSO Associate Concertmaster Donald Armstrong. She has participated in several masterclasses with international violinists such as Augustin Hadelich and Ilya Gringolts. She is a keen orchestral player, having been a member of the NZSO National Youth Orchestra since 2015, playing with the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra and other orchestras around the country.

Sarang has received a number of prizes and awards including the Victoria University Ensemble Performance Award, Best Performance of a New Zealand work, and the Freemasons Lankhuyzen/Whetu-Kairangi Music Award for her time in Europe with the Royal Concertgebouw concertmaster Liviu Prunaru. Sarang has a keen interest in chamber music, collaborating with members of both the Te Kōkī Trio and Ghost Trio in 2021.


Semi-Final Round 1
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 4 in A Minor, Op. 23

Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3 in D Minor, Op. 108

Semi-Final Round 2
Caprice for Solo Violin, Op. 1 No. 5

Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 80
Andante assai
Allegro brusco

Final Round
Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, Op. 28 (arr. Bizet)

Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3 in D Minor, Op. 108
Presto agitato

Your notes on Sarang