Claudia Tarrant-Matthews / violin

Originally from Aotearoa, Claudia completed her Bachelor of Music in piano and violin performance at Te Kōkī New Zealand School of Music in 2018. She is currently in her second year of a Master of Arts in violin performance at the Royal Academy of Music, where she is under the tutelage of Professor György Pauk. Claudia is currently a recipient of the Dame Malvina Major Wellington Arts Excellence Award, the Kiwi Music Scholarship, and is on a generous scholarship from the Royal Academy of Music. When in New Zealand, Claudia plays as a casual member of the NZSO.

Claudia has performed concerti with orchestra on occasions, including with the New Zealand School of Music orchestra and a local Wellington orchestra. She was the pianist in Trio Fantasia, which reached the finals of the Pettman/ROSL Chamber Music Arts scholarship. The following year her string quartet won the Adam Troubadour fellowship programme. Claudia is currently first violinist of the Calathea Quartet, which is an ensemble formed at the Royal Academy of Music. In April 2021 they won first place in the Royal Academy of Music Historical Women Composers Prize. Claudia has had leading positions for the Royal Academy Sainsbury Soloists, and Chamber Orchestra, and is now a member of the London Philharmonic Orchestra’s Foyle Future Firsts scheme 2020/21.


Semi-final Round 1
John Psathas

Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1
Allegro appassionato

Semi-final Round 2
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 7 in C Minor, Op. 30 No. 2
Allegro con brio

Sonata for Violin and Piano in G Minor
Allegro Vivo

Final round
Sonata No. 1 in G Minor for Solo Violin, BWV 1001

Sonata for Violin and Piano No 1

Your notes on Claudia